Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 13 – Drawstring Bag

I made this for my Mum. I’m not sure what she uses it for, but I never doubt she can find uses for bags! This is from page 69 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing and brings me to half way through the challenge. There are a lot of big and fancy things left to make now like curtains, a roman blind, cushions and some quilts (and a few other things of course!).

Drawstring Bag - Challenge 13

Drawstring Bag – Challenge 13

The fabric for this bag was purchased from a near-by remnants store. I purchased a lot of the fabric because I thought it would make great frilly pinnies. So now most of it sits in my fabric stash unmade! I seem to only like making the same thing once or twice, although this depends on whether I can  wear it or not, if it makes a good gift, or its practical purpose.  When I make clothes I like, that fit well, I make them over and over.  I also don’t seem to have a lot of patience when it comes to fiddly things and prefer to keep clothes quick to make and functional to wear.

