Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 5b – Cook’s Apron (adult)

This apron has a hand wiper instead of a pocket. The idea is that you wash the hand wiper more regularly than the rest of the apron. I’m not sure how this will work in reality, but I don’t remember ever using the pocket on my apron so perhaps a hand wiper is a much better idea? It is attached with clear press-studs that I’ve hand sewn on to both pieces. The finished apron looks lovely, but it was fiddly and I don’t think I’ll make another one. It’s also a large pattern and you might be able to see in the photo that it wraps around the wearer which means the side trim don’t show as clearly as I’d like.

Adult Cook's Apron

The Liberty Book of Home Sewing uses cotton drill for the main apron (as did I) and then a tana lawn for the trim. I used two types of cotton fabrics as I thought they contrasted well. The instructions for making it can be found on page 30 of the book.

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2013 by in Liberty Challenge and tagged , , , .
