Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Soft and cuddly cushion doll

The pattern is made up of overlapping circles. I traced plates for the body and face and cups for the ears and arms. I didn’t give her legs, because if you attach them separately it can create a weak spot where the stitching can come undone if the legs get pulled over the life of the doll. The face was fun; it’s  embroidery floss on polar fleece. I made her sleeping so I didn’t have to risk giving her funny looking eyes. Ever seen a doll or teddy that doesn’t look quite right, or even a bit scary, because of the eyes? Well, this can’t happen when they’re sleeping! I drew the face onto a round piece of card (dressmaking cardboard) until I was happy with it and then I cut through the card to create a template. I placed the template over the polar fleece and traced onto the fabric with a pen. Then I embroidered over the pen marks (see photo below for template).

Baby presents are fun and often on the small side, so it’s great to use your favourite fabrics all over again; just the off-cuts this time. The cotton was left over from the summer sleeping bag and polar fleece was left over from the backing of a baby quilt for another friend. I made a pact to make presents for all my friends’ babies (there’s been quite a few so far!) so stay tuned for more baby present ideas…

Cushion Doll

Cushion Doll

Face Template for Cushion Doll

Face Template for Cushion Doll

