Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 12 – Gadget Case

Well this started out as a gadget case for my new work phone, but ended up just a little bit small to get my phone in and out of easily so… voila: sunglasses case! It must have been a good mistake because a girl friend ordered one too!

A couple of things I changed compared to the original design (page 72 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing) were: I added a fastener in the form of some elastic and a button; and the binding around the edge is hand sewn (because I hate sewing binding!!). It was actually easier to hand sew because you can see both sides at once and make sure the needle goes exactly where you want it to. Rather than making small unobtrusive stitches I went big and bold and used embroidery thread.IMG_0004

