Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 11 – Rose Throw

Flower Throw Rug

This uses a technique called ‘broderie perse’ which is essentially using appliqué to make an expensive or rare fabric go further by using small pieces of it as a feature. I used quilting fabrics available from a quilting store, but I can imaging this would be a great technique for using vintage fabrics or heirlooms such as pieces of grandma’s favourite summer frock or ball gown etc.

I chose my fabric with two things in mind: it needed flowers of a reasonable size for cutting out and, as I was making this for a friend, it needed to be colours she would like and which suited her house. Judging from her reaction when I gave it to her, I got it right!

One thing I didn’t count on was that the fabric I chose was too light and when I put the back piece against the front piece you could see through them. This didn’t look good and also it needed more weight to sit nicely on a chair or couch. So I used a piece of cream coloured drill in between the fabrics. Also, as quilting fabrics are narrower than Liberty fabrics I had to widen the back piece by adding a feature stripe. Thanks to the lovely ladies at GJ’s Discount Fabrics for this useful suggestion. The measurements and instructions can be found on page 122 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing.

2013-01-22 15.32.07

