Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 10 – Peacock Pin Cushion

2012-12-05 14.06.25I made this for my Mum’s birthday and I was so proud of it! It was a lot of work and when I began I wasn’t sure I had the skill or patience to do it justice. A big thank you to Evelyn at Moonee Ponds Sewing for putting me on the right track with needles to use with embroidery thread (the thread kept breaking before I sought her advice), to my husband for doing the child minding so I could sew (muwah!) and to my father-in-law for going to London to purchase the fabric for me!2012-12-05 14.09.21

The feathers are dark denim backings with florist wire attached under the appliqué to give them shape and hold them upright. The appliqué is a Liberty of London fabric which is covered in different sized peacock feathers. I cut out the ones I needed and tacked them onto the denim. Once that was done each feather was machine embroidered with two threads of different colours. Most feathers have one or two sequins attached as well. The body of the peacock uses a fat quarter of a turquoise coloured pattern and I used felt for the eyes. You can see how pins were used as plumage.

I attached the feathers to each other and then to the peacock body. The eyes were done last. The feathers were so heavy (because I used denim) I had to split open the seam at the bottom of the stuffing and insert a couple of metal washers to weigh down the belly so he didn’t keep tipping backward!

One comment on “Challenge 10 – Peacock Pin Cushion

  1. MargB
    January 30, 2013

    I’m very impressed! He even has a slight quizzical expression on his face!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Liberty Challenge.
