Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 9 – Beanbag Footstool

This is lovely when finished.

Bean bag footstool

The options in the book are to make it with handles or pockets. I chose pockets and added a ribbon around the outside, which I think finished it off nicely. The pocket covers the side seam which is neat (well it is now!). The Liberty Book of Home Sewing recommends making a lining first (same dimensions of fabric as the outer) and stuffing it with polystyrene beans before inserting it into the outer. This was a nightmare! I couldn’t get my fully stuffed lining into the outer cover. I had beans all over the place! After swearing for a few minutes, I picked up the beans and tried again. This time I cut a hole in the lining that was directly below the outer zip. I inserted the half empty lining and then filled it in situ. I slip stitched the cut I made and then zipped it all up – voilà!

2012-12-01 15.44.49

Top

