Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge 8 – Sugar-Bag Doorstop

It felt odd buying dried beans to fill a door stop. It took just over 1 kg of the cheapest beans I could fine (navy). The door stop is the shape of a sugar bag, as the name implies, and it’s from page 37 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing. It’s very simple to cut and sew, and even though all the pieces are neat rectangles I still made pattern pieces. It was no great challenge and was not mentally taxing, so I probably wouldn’t make it again, unless I really needed a door stop, of course! (Although between you and me, a can of baked beans, or two, would work just as well and cost far less.) The finished size is 18 cm tall by 12 wide and 7 deep.2012-12-01 16.03.53

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Liberty Challenge and tagged , , , .
