Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Summer Sleeping Bag

This is the baby type of sleeping bag, not the camping type. I made this summer one which would fit a 2 – 4 year old. Most of the instructions for making it can be found here on the Made of Cloth blog. A few things I did differently are 1. I made a pattern using paper, instead of drawing on the fabric I was about to sew. This means I have a pattern for next time (stay tuned for a winter sleep bag); 2. I used two lightweight fabrics of 100% cotton to ensure it would be appropriate for summer; and 3. I stitched the neck instead of using binding. The neck can be stitched when the bag is inside out (outer and lining fabrics right sides together) and then top stitched when it is the right way round. The entire bag can be turned the right way out through one of the arm holes before the binding has been added. Click on the second photo to see more detail.

The link on the Made of Cloth blog regarding how to do zips doesn’t work, so use this one at Twelve22: zipper tutorial

Also, if you want a great tutorial on sewing bias binding go to: Sew Much Fun.  It’s a very handy and simple You Tube demo. I used quite a wide binding on my bag as it’s more forgiving (ie. I’m not great at accuracy!).  The zip used was an endless zip and they can be purchased off the roll. Mine was about 85cm long, you just have to stitch over the teeth at the bottom to create a bottom stop. I couldn’t find any other zips at my local store that would be long enough. The tops of the zip are tucked in between the outer fabric and liner. This makes for a neat finish and stops the pull tab and slider coming off the end of the zip. Just allow a bit extra at the top to make this possible, you can always reach in between the fabrics and trim the ends just before you bind the arm  holes.

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in Hand Made Baby Gifts and tagged , , .
