Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge Six – Frilly Pinny with Potholder

This Fifties’ Frill Pinny and Potholder looks cute and fun, but not all of it was fun! This is from page 106 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing and it was my first go at such a serious amount of gathering. The first part of the frill was easy. I used the rolled hem foot on the sewing machine and went for it… metres later and I had … a hem. Good start. Attaching the frill was the difficult part. Making sure the gathering was evenly spaced along the perimeter of the apron was a skill I didn’t have at the time. But, with a bit of finagling, a passing glance at the instructions and my usual attention to detail and perfection (i.e. gosh this is tedious, that’ll do) I was done. The original instructions call for a 1cm hem turned twice for the frill, but that’s quite time consuming (and boring) and using the rolled hem foot worked just as well, if not better, as it puts a natural ruffle into edges.

The Frilly Pinny in all its glory!

It’s a little bit girly and flowery so I gave it to my least girly and flowery friend, because I knew she would understand it wasn’t to be taken seriously, and guess what – she hasn’t taken it seriously. She promises to wear it whilst gardening and chatting with the neighbours, just as soon as she can wrestle it out of the hands of her daughter!

