Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge Seven – Washbag

I really should have lowered my expectations when I read the introduction, which opened with: ‘Nobody really needs to stitch their own washbag…’

Last night I finished off the Washbag on page 41 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing. It’s pretty enough and I was happy with my zip work (tacking it in first was a great suggestion), but the inside isn’t very neat. The project begins with placing the pattern on top of a sandwich of a laminated fabric lining, wadding and the outer fabric and then sewing around the pattern. This makes sure the three layers stay joined whilst making the Washbag. At first this made sense, but as I began to sew I realised that it left all the raw edges exposed inside the bag. Usually the lining (in this case water resistant laminated fabric) is attached to a bag in such a way that the raw edges are hidden from view (between the outer layer and the lining). In this case the seams of the lining (and outer fabric and wadding) are all in plain view when the bag is opened. It’s a simple enough pattern for a beginner, but if you aspire to something a little more refined in the bag range I recommend patterns by Nicole Mallalieu.

Also, the original pattern for this bag does not have a handle. Instead you remove the end of the zip and add a piece of leather. At first I wondered ‘why the leather’, but when I realised it was a handle substitute I decided to add a handle instead and not frustrate the user any more than I had to!

2 comments on “Challenge Seven – Washbag

  1. margb
    July 13, 2012

    Great to see your latest effort! I think it looks very classy and a decent size too! Did you have any inner pockets?

    • Sewing Challenge
      July 17, 2012

      Hi! Pleased you think it looks classy, Mum liked the fabric too. Yeh, it is a decent size. No inner pockets on this one. I think if I made something similar again pockets would be a great idea. I finished off the raw edges on the inside with the overlocker. I forgot to mention that in my post. I may try to put binding over the edges. Depends if I can find out how to work my new binding foot!

Comments are closed.

