Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge Three (a) – Basic Cushions

This was a challenge I completed very carefully! A while ago my mum gave me a table cloth she had embroidered when she was 15. Of the four corners she had completed one. My task was to make this one corner into a cushion cover so it could be used and enjoyed. I made a Basic Cushion from page 14 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing. It was a basic square cushion finished with a slip stitch (no zip). The most difficult things about making it were cutting the fabric square (the old linen had warped and stretched a bit) and working out where the centre of the embroidery was and making sure that was the centre piece of the front of the cushion. I used an un-embroidered part of the table cloth for the back and I purchased the cushion stuffing from Spotlight. The corners were rounded off a little to get it to sit nicely.

One tip I have learned from the quilting sisterhood (I’m not officially a member yet) is to pull your thread through the edge of a block of beeswax first. This cuts down significantly on the knots and twists in cotton thread that frustrate all of us who mend and/or sew. It works a treat and I wished I had discovered it years ago! Mum loves the cushion and I have a few more to make for the rest of the Basic Cushions Challenge.

2 comments on “Challenge Three (a) – Basic Cushions

  1. Hannah Baguley
    May 29, 2012

    Love it! Must come see them soon. Two weeks time and i’m there!

    • Sewing Challenge
      May 31, 2012

      Would love to see you too! Good luck with exams. B xo

Comments are closed.

