Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challenge Four (a) – Keepsake Board

I’ve always wanted one of these, I love them. As you can see from the photo it is a board (in this case stretch canvas) covered in one layer of wadding, one layer of fabric and then criss crossed with binding. This is from page 60 of The Liberty Book of Home Sewing and most of it was fun to make. I looked everywhere for a cork board before learning that it is very unsustainable to use cork. I looked for a similar alternative, but the options sounded messy so I went for a simple and cheap stretched canvas board from Spotlight. The size is up to you, make it the size you want.

Using a staple gun to secure the wadding and fabrics was great fun and very satisfying. Making the binding was as boring as watching cricket. Next time I would buy bias binding (the binding I made wasn’t cut on the bias). Also, quilting stores have a more interesting range of bindings than the usual fare at fabric stores. The next board I make will use ribbon (as outlined in the Taking it Further option in the book). Either way I had to pull all the fabric and binding really tight to make it work and hold photos and paper (especially as drawing pins can’t be used) and I had to re-pull and re-staple quite a few bits of binding until I was happy with it. If you like making gifts and you don’t sew, I would recommend making these. Isn’t the fabric gorgeous? You can see it better below.

