Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Challege Two – Eco Shopper

Eco Shopper in Bag HolderMy second challenge since starting this project was to make the Eco Shopper from page 24 of the Liberty Book of Home Sewing. I’d made a few of these as gifts before starting the challenge. So the pattern was already done and I’d experimented with the best ways to make the bag. Each time I made a bag I also made the bag holder. To the left is a photo of a finished bag inside the holder.

After making it a few times I changed the pattern very slightly and cut on the fold. The fold is the base of the bag, making it stronger and requiring less sewing. I used an overlocker for the seams of the bag and the facing. This way I didn’t have to sew the inside seams and then go back and zigzag over them to finish. I used two needles on the overlocker for strength and made sure I tied off all ends. I pretty much followed the instructions for the rest of it, although I did try one bag holder with a button and button hole as an alternative to a press stud. The button gave it a nicer finish.

All Shopper and Bag Pieces Cut OutBag Holder in Another Fabric

