Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

Making the Patterns

Couldn’t summon the enthusiasm to sew much this week so I’ve been concentrating on pattern drafting from The Liberty Book of Home Sewing (LBHS). I’ve made patterns for the Cook’s Apron (adult and child) from page 30, the Eco Shopper (pg 24), the Tote Bag (pg 52). Looking forward to making the tote! For patterns I used grease proof paper on a roll and a quilter’s cutting board to keep the lines straight. I borrowed the cutting board from a friend to finish a cot panel quilt for my daughter. The board has been so useful since then, I think I’ll get one of my own – they’re not just for quilters!

I sat at the desk with my rulers, paper, board and pen. I felt like Mr Brady working hard in his den, drafting houses and floor plans while the kids played with Tiger, although I don’t have a perm or funky pants.
The most challenging thing about making the patterns based on the illustrations in the book is getting the curves right. Even though the book provides a grid I find it difficult to make curves flow accurately. This was particularly true of the Eco shopper and the bib part of the Cook’s Apron. If anyone has any tips – please let me know!

2 comments on “Making the Patterns

  1. Ari
    May 29, 2012

    You need a set of French Curves! Well, that’s what I used to use for hand drafting, assume they’d work nicely for pattern making too.

    • Sewing Challenge
      May 31, 2012

      Hey thanks Ari, that’s exactly what I need! I remember my sewing teacher had one. Is it a right angle with a curve carved out of the inside, like a ‘C’ inside an ‘L’?

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Liberty Challenge and tagged , , , .
