Sewing Challenge

The challenge of making everything in The Liberty Book of Home Sewing in one year (hmm…would you believe two years?). How about: Lots of things I have made in the past year or so…

The challenge…

Welcome to my sewing challenge blog! I’ve set myself the challenge of making everything in the Liberty Book of Home Sewing over the next year. There are 26 different things to make in the book (including quilts) and some of them come in a couple of variations e.g. four ways of making a cushion cover, so I will have my work cut out for me.

If you’re unfamiliar with Liberty check out their web site http://www.liberty.co.uk/. If you love fabrics and sewing you may have already heard of their Tana Lawn range, some of them designed by William Morris.

I’ll be showing photos of what I’ve made and sharing some of the lessons I learned in making them, hopefully this will help others using patterns and ideas from the book.

I won’t be using Liberty fabrics much so my finished goods will look quite different. There are few reasons for this 1) I can’t afford to make everything in Liberty fabrics (although I will splurge here and there!), 2) Like many who sew I buy fabrics I love when I see them, but don’t always get around to using them, so I will trying to use up my own stocks, and 3) I want to make things that will be useful to myself and others, so I want to match the colours in my house and use colours and patterns that friends and family want too.

This is my first attempt at blogging and the biggest project undertaken to date. I’m really looking forward to a creative year and learning a lot!

